SLVHA announces scholarship winners

SARANAC LAKE – The Saranac Lake Voluntary Health Association recently announced the winners of their annual North Country Community College Nursing/RadTech Scholarships. The $1,500 scholarship winner needs to be full-time student at NCCC, be in good academic standing, be a graduating LPN student and entering their second year radiologic technology program or accepted to the registered nursing or radiologic technology program at NCCC.

The winners of the 2012 SLVHA scholarships are Shari Holmlund of Tupper Lake; Andrew James of Gabriels, Danielle Phelan of Saranac Lake; Eve Chartier of Tupper Lake; Sara Roskidany of Schroon Lake; and Amanda Rickett of Saranac Lake.

“We are honored to be able to continue to help nontraditional nursing and radtech students through these annual scholarships,” SLVHA board member Sue Patterson said. “There is a shortage of healthcare professionals and this is a great opportunity for people to take advantage of a wonderful local nursing program.”

According to scholarship winner Sara Roskidany as a one income family and mother, “The scholarship has helped to lessen the burden. For books or tuition.”

“I went back to school about seven years ago to get a degree in nursing but when I got married and started having children, that was put on hold,” Roskindany said. “Because of this scholarship I was given the help to go back to school and finish my degree.”

Information regarding applications for the 2013 NCCC scholarships is available as part of the North Country Community College Scholarship Catalog. In 2013, the Saranac Lake Voluntary Health Association will have 20 scholarships available for nontraditional students.

The Saranac Lake Voluntary Health Association, Inc. is a not-for-profit organization established in 1897 dedicated to improving the health of the people within the Saranac Lake Central School District through funding health care initiatives such as the Saranac Lake Elementary School dental hygienist, adult dental grants and a visiting nurse as well as scholarships for students in the medical, nursing, rehabilitative and allied fields of study.