Dupree captures first win of season

PLATTSBURGH – Patrick Dupree carried the checkers for the first time this year at Airborne Speedway with a convincing win in the second of two Modified features Saturday.

The Saranac Laker started on the outside of the front row in the 30-lap event in the Labatt Blue Light No. 24 and was never headed. It was Dupree’s first win of the season and the 28th of his career.

Chris Cayea had his best showing of the season to claim second by holding off Andy Lindeman who crossed the line third at his bumper. Kris Vernold was fourth with Todd Stone fifth. Lindeman failed tech inspection advancing Vernold, Stone and Jessey Mueller into positions three through five.

Stone, the points leader from Middlebury, Vt., won the first half of the Modified doubleheader which was resumed on lap 11 from a rain delay the week before. Dupree finished third behind Vermontville’s George Foley with Vernold next in line.

“My guys are constantly working at it,” Dupree said. “They’ve gone over the set-up from the ground up. We’re still not at our best times, but we’re gaining on it.”

Richie Turner of Fairfax, Vt. won the Furniture World of VT Renegade 100 and pocketed a $500 bonus on top of the $1,000 winner’s check for the way he did it.

Turner opted to start the second half of the race at the rear to earn the extra money after taking the lead from Robert Gordon on lap 37. He opened up a large lead before a mandatory pit stop at the halfway mark.

When the race resumed, Turner had his Don Turner Automotive No. 17 in third place in five laps. On a restart on lap 61 he swept into the lead and was never headed.

Gordon held onto the runner-up spot despite being hard-pressed by Josh Terry and Lance Rabtoy over the final 20 laps. Terry finished third, ahead of Rabtoy (fourth) and Ryan Boutin (fifth).

Nick Heywood of Plattsburgh won the first of two J&S Steel Sportsman Modified 25-lap features. Heywood overtook Joe Daniels of Saranac with three laps to go. Daniels held off Mike Phinney to claim runner-up honors.

Robin Wood won the Limited Late Model main event convincingly after passing runner-up Dylan Payea on lap 13 of the 25-lap race. Jamy Begor, Bucko Branham and Shawn Duquette completed the top five.