Randig, Reynolds, Rice vie to replace Burpoe

Four Franklin County Legislature seats will be contested by multiple candidates this fall.

Each seat carries a three-year term on the county board. The primary will be held Sept. 10, and the general election is Nov. 5.

Tim Burpoe, D-Saranac Lake, will not vie for his District 7 seat, sparking a three-way contest between Democrat Barbara Rice of Saranac Lake, Republican Ed Randig of Saranac Lake and Independent Curt Reynolds of Lake Clear. District 7, in the county’s southeast corner, includes the towns of Harrietstown and Franklin.

Gordon Crossman, D-Malone, will be up against Republican Mark Besio of Malone in District 3, which includes the towns of Brighton, Duane, Bangor and half of Malone.

In District 4, the other half of Malone, the Sept. 10 primary will determine whether Democrat Paul Hogan or Democrat Carl Sherwin will run against incumbent Republican Marc Lashomb.

Sue Robideau, R-Brushton, is up against Democrat Don Dabiew of Bombay for the second time in District 5, which includes the western towns of Waverly, Dickinson, Brandon, Moira and Bombay.

So far, legislators Guy Smith (D-Fort Covington) in District 1, Billy Jones (D-Chateaugay) in District 2 and Paul Maroun (R-Tupper Lake) in District 6 are running unopposed.

The four-year county clerk position, held by Kip Cassavaw, D-Chateaugay, will be contested by Moira town Supervisor Cindy Gale, a Republican.

District Attorney Derek Champagne and Treasurer Bryon Varin were cross-endorsed by both parties and are running unopposed.

County coroners Martin Hughes III and Bert Wilcox, both Republicans, are also running unopposed.

Contact Shaun Kittle at 518-891-2600 ext. 25 or skittle@adirondackdailyenterprise.com.