Roberts, Snizek inducted into SLHS Hall of Fame

SARANAC LAKE – Ryan Roberts and Laura Snizek were inducted into the Saranac Lake High School Athletic Hall of Fame during a halftime ceremony Saturday at the Red Storm’s varsity home football game.

Roberts graduated in 1999 and was one of the most dynamic football players in school history. In 1998, his senior season, Roberts was named the Champlain Valley Athletic Conference player of the year and was also a Class B first-team all-state selection. That year, Roberts helped lead Saranac Lake to the state semifinals in Kingston, where the team fell to eventual Class B champion Edgemont.

Roberts holds the school record for scoring the most touchdowns in a season with 24, most rushing yards in a season with 1,604 and most rushing yards during a two-year period with 2,270. He is also just one of four players in CVAC history to score six touchdowns in one game.

Roberts was also a member of Redskins baseball team for two years, utilizing his speed and skill to bat at the top of the order. He is a veteran of the United States Air Force and a graduate of North Country Community College and Buffalo State College.

Snizek graduated from Saranac Lake in 2003 and competed in soccer, cross country, indoor track and outdoor track and field. Upon graduation, she held the school record for the 100, 200 and 400 meters. Her athletic career was highlighted in 2001, when as a sophomore she claimed the Division II 400-meter title at the New York State Public High School Track and Field Championships held at Hofstra University on Long Island.

As a testament to Snizek’s great ability, 10 years after graduation her school records in the 200 and 400 meters still stand and her record in the 100 meters has been tied twice but not surpassed.

Snizek is a graduate of Brown University and currently attends Emory University in Atlanta, Ga.

The SLHS Athletic Hall of Fame committee accepts nominations in May each year with inductees being honored in the fall. Committee members include Mark Farmer, Natalie Leduc, Bub McGrain, Frank Camelo, Mark Gilligan, John Muldowney, Jim Clark and Kelly Spadaro.