Harrietstown board salutes DeFuria, Murnane

SARANAC LAKE – Town of Harrietstown officials paid tribute to a pair of outgoing councilmen at their last meeting of the year Thursday.

Supervisor Bob Bevilacqua presented councilmen Barry DeFuria and Jim Murnane with plaques recognizing their service to the town.

DeFuria, a Republican, opted not to seek re-election this year. He’s been on the town board for 16 years.

“Barry’s knowledge of the airport and several other areas of the town have been invaluable,” Bevilacqua said. “It’s not something you can replace just by electing new members. I hope you’ll be available for questions when we call on you. Thank you for all the work you’ve done for the town.”

“It’s been a pleasure,” DeFuria said. “I’m going to have fun in my retirement. I might show up once in a while.”

Murnane, a Republican, was elected in 2009 to a two-year unexpired seat. He opted not to seek re-election in 2011 and was off the board for about a year. He was appointed to his current seat in December 2012 after Bevilacqua left it to become supervisor. Murnane decided not to seek the remaining two years on the seat in last month’s election.

“Jim answered the call twice to help us out here on the board,” Bevilacqua said. “I appreciate everything you’ve done, the help you’ve given us and all the committees you’ve been on. Your help in our negotiations with the union were invaluable, and I’d just like to thank you very much.”

When the board convenes again in January, it will have two new members. Ed Goetz, a Democrat, was the top vote getter in a three-way race for two, four-year seats. Incumbent Ron Keough, a Republican, won the second seat. Howard Riley, a Democrat, was elected to serve the remaining two years of the seat now held by Murnane.

Contact Chris Knight at 518-891-2600 ext. 24 or cknight@adirondackdailyenterprise.com.