Obama to nominate Clarkson president to St. Lawrence Seaway advisory board

President Barack Obama announced this week that he plans to nominate Clarkson University President Anthony G. Collins to serve as a member of the Advisory Board of the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation. Collins has been president of Clarkson University since 2003.

Prior to this position, Collins served in a variety of roles at Clarkson University from 1982 to 2003.

With U.S. Senate consent, Collins will join a five-member Advisory Board appointed by the president, which reviews the general policies of the Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation and advises Administrator Betty Sutton.

The Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation is a wholly owned government corporation created by statute in 1954 to construct, operate and maintain that part of the St. Lawrence Seaway between the Port of Montreal and Lake Erie and to enhance Great Lakes/St. Lawrence Seaway System utilization and trade.