NCCC honors students at Phi Theta Kappa ceremony

SARANAC LAKE – North Country Community College held an induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa in April at the First Presbyterian Church in Saranac Lake.

This spring’s group of honored students join a distinguished list of 739 previous inductees of NCCC’s Beta Theta Pi chapter, which was chartered in 1999. Joining students and their families at the ceremony were PTK advisors Lynne Fisher Kemp, Bruce Kelly, Kate Wells, Selina LeMay-Klippel and Charles VanAnden, as well as NCCC President Steve Tyrell and keynote speaker Patricia Owen.

PTK recognizes and encourages scholarship among associates degree students by providing opportunities for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate to exchange ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

“The college is very proud of the achievements of this special group of students. They not only have outstanding academic grade averages but have a keen interest in the Hallmarks of Phi Theta Kappa: Leadership, Fellowship, Scholarship, and Community,” said Owen, NCCC vice president for academic affairs. “These hallmarks make for a lively chapter as the students and their advisors create activities and programs that reflect their commitment to their chapter, Beta Theta Phi, and North Country Community College. I was honored to be asked to address the inductees and their families and friends.”

Each semester, invitation to membership is extended by the chapter to students who have completed at least 15 hours of coursework at NCCC, leading to an associates degree in which they have at least a 3.5 GPA.

This year’s inductees are as follows (*denotes fall 2013 inductees):

-Alicia Ashe (Keene Valley)

-Robert Bashaw (Malone)

-Melody Blackmore (Tupper Lake)

-Heather Blow (Chateaugay)*

-Rodney Bohin (Tupper Lake)

-Courtney Boyea (Chateaugay)

-Jessica Brown (Vermontville)

-Cassady Bryington (Fort Covington)

-Angela Charette (North Bangor)

-Ege Cinel (Istanbul, Turkey)

-Timothy Clark, Jr. (Elizabethtown)*

-Nikola Cvetanovic (Belgrade, Serbia)

-Aaron Delurey (Hoosick Falls)*

-Katie Eckler (Jordanville)*

-Taylor Fana (Saranac Lake)*

-Jason Feltzer (Malone)*

-Christa Finnie (Malone)*

-Mary Garcia (North Hudson)*

-Kim Godreau (Saranac Lake)

-Kimberley Gonyo (Mooers Forks)

-Serina Hayes (Lake Placid)

-James Herd (Vermontville)

-Alexandra Hoffman (Saugerties)

-Rachel Joiner (Ticonderoga)

-Tori Keith (North Bangor)

-Emily Kemp (Malone)*

-Megan Laboda (Ogdensburg)*

-Abbey LaPage (North Banger)

-Courtney Maslak (Vergennes, Vermont)*

-Brook McDonald (Lake Placid)*

-Patrick Meyer (New Haven, Vermont)*

-Amber Neibacher (Carthage)

-John O’Sullivan (Saranac Lake)*

-Wallace Poupore (North Bangor)*

-Emily Rascoe (Plattsburgh)

-Katie Russell (North Lawrence)

-William Schneider, III (Saranac Lake)

-Jenelle Seger (Constable)*

-Alaina Simons (Paul Smiths)*

-Russell Snyder, Jr. (Malone)*

-Katherine Spaulding (Malone)

-Elizabeth Vajda (Lake Placid)

-Miranda Ward (Wilmington)*

-Ashley White (Witherbee)

-Emily Wing (Essex)*

-Julia Woodworth (Fort Ann)