Four candidates for empty Saranac Lake school board seat

SARANAC LAKE – Four people have sent letters of intent to the Saranac Lake Board of Education in hopes of being appointed to fill an empty seat.

District Clerk Christine Fransen said the four candidates for the position are LeeAnn Baker, Dennis Dwyer, Lisa Paschke and Joan Schaefer.

The deadline for submitting a letter of intent was July 25. Fransen said the board has been notified and will discuss this at its regular meeting Wednesday, Aug. 6. Board members will review the letters together and decide when to make an appointment.

The board unanimously decided, at its July 1 meeting, to appoint a member of the community instead of having an election, which they said would be too costly. They also decided to solicit candidates instead of appointing one of the unsuccessful candidates from the May election: Paschke and Terry Tubridy.

The appointee will finish the one-year remainder of Debra Lennon’s term. Lennon, the president of the board, stepped down recently from the position, citing family reasons. Clyde Baker is now the board president.