Begor comes away with victory

PLATTSBURGH – Airborne fans were treated to a terrific side-by-side 20-lap duel between Jamy Begor and Robert Gordon to complete the Renegade 100 on MX Fuels/Gordon Oil Night on Saturday. Begor’s winning margin was about the width of his smile in victory lane.

With Gordon on the inside and Begor on the outside, the pair raced a few feet apart. Just as Begor got a nose in front for the first time, the fourth and final caution was thrown for Rich Lowrey III, who got turned around while running fifth.

Begor managed a car-length lead in the Connors Sand Pit/MX Fuels No. 19, but Gordon rallied back with Josh Terry at close range hoping for some contact that never came. Terry led the first 59 laps.

Lance Rabtoy finished fourth and Shawn Duquette was fifth.

“I kept seeing Robert’s white fender right there,” Begor said. “He raced me very clean. You just have to try and hit your marks when you’re up against a competitor like that. It’s my first win in a 100 ever and on one of my sponsors’ night. It’s pretty amazing!”

Nick Heywood of Plattsburgh took command of the J&S Steel Sportsman Modified feature late and built a comfortable winning margin in the closing laps. Combined with a win in his heat race, Heywood was able to take over first place in the point standings as well as pad his lead in the New York State NASCAR standings and his hold on the top spot for NASCAR National Rookie of the Year honors.

Runner-up Jason Durgan shot past Codie Aubin for the lead down the backstretch with six lap remaining, but Aubin blew a tire seconds later and the restart brought Heywood into striking distance. After two false starts, Heywood won the draw and the race.

Mark Lamberton rallied late for third after starting 17th. Travis Bruno and Eric Lauziere completed the top five. Positions six through 10 went to Jayson Criss, Speedy Bresette, Tyson Drown, Timex Morgan and Chris Frennier.

Pat McGrail of Candiac, Quebec overcame a blown engine in practice and returned to win the Ernie’s Discount Tools Modified feature in the Perron Racing No. 10.

“I’m very happy to be here,” McGrail said. “We changed the car completely and replaced the broken motor, but ti was worth it.”

Point leader Leon Gonyo brought the Egglefield Ford/Riley Ford No. 4 home in second with special thanks to sponsors “Ken and Lisa” and Jeffrey Trudeau. Aaron Bartemy, whose sponsor TDI Repair and Towing co-sponsored the night, finished third.

Chris Cayea was fourth to the line despite getting shuffled off the racing surface twice. Nick Heywood was fifth just ahead of Jessey Mueller, Timex Morgan and Mike Wells. Wells led the first 15 laps.

Dale O’Neil won the Busch Mini Modiifed feature. It was O’Neil’s third win. Pete Blaney and Scott Richner were next in line.

Renegade 100 standings

1. Jamy Begor, 2. Robert Gordon, 3. Josh Terry, 4. Lance Rabtoy, 5. Shawn Duquette, 6. Ryan Boutin, 7. Dave Rabtoy, 8. Zack Daniels, 9. Dylan Rabtoy, 10. Brent Jarvis.

Sportsman Modified

30 laps – 1. Nick Heywood, 2. Jason Durgan, 3. Mark Lamberton, 4. Travis Bruno, 5. Eric Lauziere, 6. Jayson Criss, 7. Speedy Bresette, 8. Tyson Drown, 9. Timex Morgan, 10. Chris Frennier.

358 Modifieds

30 laps – 1. Pat McGrail, 2. Leon Gonyo, 3. Aaron Bartemy, 4. Chris Cayea, 5. Nick Heywood, 6. Jessey Mueller, 7. Timex Morgan, 8. Mike Wells, 9. Speedy Bresette, 10. Roger Labreche.

Mini Modifieds

15 laps 1. Dale O’Neil, 2. Pete Blaney, 3. Scott Richner, 4. Mike Whalen Jr., 5. Steven Bresette.